Aluminum compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · South Carolina

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility

Orangeburg, SC · ~103 workers · 6 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

B
Good Safety Record
1.7
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility runs at 51% of its industry's injury rate - safer than the typical Aluminum compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade B.

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility: 1.7 TCR = 51% of Aluminum compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 6y Form 300A (see methodology below)

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility safety composite

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility scores strongest on total case rate (tcr) (safer than 55% of same-industry peers) and weakest on dart rate (safer than 41%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

D

49/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
C 1.67 per 100 workers

Safer than 55% of industry peers

DART rate
D 0.97 per 100 workers

Safer than 41% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 51% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility held a steady TCR band

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility's TCR held near 0.0 from 1.0 in 2016 to 1.0 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2017 at 3.6 TCR. In 2024, DART was 0.58× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

2016=1.0 · 2017=3.6 · 2019=1.5 · 2020=3.0 · 2022=0.0 · 2024=1.0

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325180 · Orangeburg, SC AT/BELOW-IND · MID

Grade B · TCR 1.7 · 51% of ind

  • DART 1.0 DART
  • RANK #5/8
  • PHOTO ERCO Worldwide, USA …
  • BOOK 6y book
  • INJ 9 inj
  • SIZE ~103 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: ERCO Worldwide, USA - Port Edwards Plant (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · South Carolina employers → · Look up another →

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility averages 1.7 TCR (51% of the Aluminum compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility TCR series: 2016=1 · 2017=3.6 · 2019=1.5 · 2020=3 · 2022=0 · 2024=1 · BLS 3.3

Where Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility falls in its industry

418 Aluminum compounds, not specif establishments

Safer than 55% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.9.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to South Carolina alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #5 safest of 8 Aluminum compounds, not specif employers in South Carolina.

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility (103 employees, TCR 1.7) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 61 employees and a TCR of 1.9 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 0100200300400500 0246810 Average employees Total Case Rate Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility
Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility (103 employees, TCR 1.7) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 61 employees and a TCR of 1.9

Gulbrandsen Chemicals - Orangeburg Facility has more employees than the Aluminum compounds, not specified elsewh median and a lower injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.9. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2024 1.0 1.0 0 1 0
2022 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2020 3.0 2.2 4 0 0
2019 1.5 0.7 2 0 0
2017 3.6 0.9 2 2 0
2016 1.0 1.0 1 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325180 · SC · Orangeburg

418 Aluminum compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 7,610 rated employers in South Carolina with headcount on file · 79 employers in Orangeburg, SC · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR ERCO Worldwide, USA - Port Edwards Plant 1.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR Solvay Chemicals, Inc. 1.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR USALCO Baltimore 1.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR Southern States Chemical, Seapoint 1.7 TCR
STATE-SIZE Electric Operations Building (Charleston) 103 FTE
STATE-SIZE Precision Walls Inc-Columbia 103 FTE
STATE-SIZE Parkway Products Seneca South Carolina 103 FTE
STATE-SIZE Michelin Tweel Technologies 103 FTE
CITY-NEAR Regional Medical Center 1,530 FTE
CITY-NEAR Husqvarna Consumer Outdoor Products 1,287 FTE
CITY-NEAR The Regional Medical Center 1,209 FTE
CITY-NEAR MUSC Health Orangeburg 1,155 FTE
NAT-TCR Bronco Logistics 1.7 TCR
NAT-TCR US Ecology Taylor 1.7 TCR
NAT-TCR ERCO Worldwide, USA - Port Edwards Plant 1.7 TCR
NAT-TCR Coatings 2000, Inc. 1.7 TCR
NAT-SIZE Corbin 103 FTE
NAT-SIZE UOR 103 FTE
NAT-SIZE XSB 103 FTE
NAT-SIZE The Willows at Bellevue 103 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2024, 2022, 2020, 2019, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.