Nickel compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · Tennessee

Johnson Matthey

Sevierville, TN · ~38 workers · 6 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

D
Poor Safety Record
4.8
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

Johnson Matthey runs at 145% of its industry's injury rate - more dangerous than the typical Nickel compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade D.

Johnson Matthey: 4.8 TCR = 145% of Nickel compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 6y Form 300A (see methodology below)

Johnson Matthey safety composite

Johnson Matthey scores strongest on dart rate (safer than 75% of same-industry peers) and weakest on total case rate (tcr) (safer than 14%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

D

45/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
F 4.8 per 100 workers

Safer than 14% of industry peers

DART rate
B 0 per 100 workers

Safer than 75% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 51% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

TCR Δ

−5.1

2016→2024

Johnson Matthey injury rate improved

Johnson Matthey's TCR fell 5.1 from 5.1 in 2016 to 0.0 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2017 at 15.4 TCR. In 2024, DART was 0× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

2016=5.1 · 2017=15.4 · 2020=0.0 · 2021=8.3 · 2022=0.0 · 2024=0.0

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325180 · Sevierville, TN ABOVE-IND · SMALL

Grade D · TCR 4.8 · 145% of ind

  • DART 0.0 DART
  • RANK #18/21
  • PHOTO Eurecat - McAlester
  • BOOK 6y book
  • INJ 11 inj
  • SIZE ~38 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: Eurecat - McAlester (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · Tennessee employers → · Look up another →

Johnson Matthey in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows Johnson Matthey averages 4.8 TCR (145% of the Nickel compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

Johnson Matthey TCR series: 2016=5.1 · 2017=15.4 · 2020=0 · 2021=8.3 · 2022=0 · 2024=0 · BLS 3.3

Where Johnson Matthey falls in its industry

418 Nickel compounds, not specifie establishments

Safer than 14% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.9.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to Tennessee alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #18 safest of 21 Nickel compounds, not specifie employers in Tennessee.

Johnson Matthey (38 employees, TCR 4.8) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 61 employees and a TCR of 1.9 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 0100200300400500 0246810 Average employees Total Case Rate Johnson Matthey
Johnson Matthey (38 employees, TCR 4.8) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 61 employees and a TCR of 1.9

Johnson Matthey has fewer employees than the Nickel compounds, not specified elsewher median and a higher injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.9. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2024 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2022 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2021 8.3 2.8 3 0 0
2020 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2017 15.4 12.8 6 0 0
2016 5.1 2.5 2 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325180 · TN · Sevierville

418 Nickel compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 10,743 rated employers in Tennessee with headcount on file · 66 employers in Sevierville, TN · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR Eurecat - McAlester 4.8 TCR
NAICS-TCR Akzo Nobel Pulp and Performance Chemicals Inc. 4.8 TCR
NAICS-TCR YS, Inc. 4.9 TCR
NAICS-TCR AUC-Manatee 4.7 TCR
STATE-SIZE D.R. Horton, Inc. - Memphis 38 FTE
STATE-SIZE Smith Douglas Nashville 38 FTE
STATE-SIZE J.A. Fielden Co, Inc. 38 FTE
STATE-SIZE Messer Construction - Knoxville, TN 38 FTE
CITY-NEAR Wilderness at the Smokies 582 FTE
CITY-NEAR Charles Blalock & Sons, Inc. 561 FTE
CITY-NEAR City of Sevierville 544 FTE
CITY-NEAR LECONTE MEDICAL CENTER 481 FTE
NAT-TCR Mestex 4.8 TCR
NAT-TCR Crawford Mechanical Services, Inc. 4.8 TCR
NAT-TCR Allegheny Steel Distributors 4.8 TCR
NAT-TCR Rosen Shingle Creek 4.8 TCR
NAT-SIZE Baton Rouge SBS 38 FTE
NAT-SIZE Corrosion Resistance, LTD 38 FTE
NAT-SIZE Southwestern Wire Tulsa 38 FTE
NAT-SIZE Coastal Roots Farm 38 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2024, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.