Heterocyclic chemicals, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · Virginia

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham

Chatham, VA · ~63 workers · 5 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

A
Excellent Safety Record
0.7
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham runs at 22% of its industry's injury rate - far safer than the typical Heterocyclic chemicals, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade A.

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham: 0.7 TCR = 22% of Heterocyclic chemicals, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 5y Form 300A (see methodology below)

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham safety composite

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham scores strongest on dart rate (safer than 75% of same-industry peers) and weakest on fatalities (safer than 50%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

C

68/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
C 0.71 per 100 workers

Safer than 74% of industry peers

DART rate
B 0 per 100 workers

Safer than 75% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 50% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

TCR Δ

−1.8

2018→2022

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham injury rate improved

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham's TCR fell 1.8 from 1.8 in 2018 to 0.0 in 2022. Peak filing year was 2020 at 1.8 TCR. In 2022, DART was 0× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

2018=1.8 · 2019=0.0 · 2020=1.8 · 2021=0.0 · 2022=0.0

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325199 · Chatham, VA AT/BELOW-IND · SMALL

Grade A · TCR 0.7 · 22% of ind

  • DART 0.0 DART
  • RANK #4/10
  • PHOTO INV Nylon Chemicals …
  • BOOK 5y book
  • INJ 1 inj
  • SIZE ~63 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: INV Nylon Chemicals Americas, LLC (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · Virginia employers → · Look up another →

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham averages 0.7 TCR (22% of the Heterocyclic chemicals, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham TCR series: 2018=1.8 · 2019=0 · 2020=1.8 · 2021=0 · 2022=0 · BLS 3.3

Where Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham falls in its industry

552 Heterocyclic chemicals, not sp establishments

Safer than 74% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.5.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to Virginia alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #4 safest of 10 Heterocyclic chemicals, not sp employers in Virginia.

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham (63 employees, TCR 0.7) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 02004006008001,000 02468 Average employees Total Case Rate Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham
Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham (63 employees, TCR 0.7) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5

Arkema Inc Sartomer B.U. Chatham has fewer employees than the Heterocyclic chemicals, not specified el median and a lower injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.5. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2022 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2021 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2020 1.8 1.8 0 1 0
2019 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2018 1.8 1.8 1 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325199 · VA · Chatham

552 Heterocyclic chemicals, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 12,673 rated employers in Virginia with headcount on file · 19 employers in Chatham, VA · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR INV Nylon Chemicals Americas, LLC 0.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR IDT Coralville 2470 0.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR Hallstar Greensboro LLC 0.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR Lake Charles South 0.7 TCR
STATE-SIZE Summit Helicopters, Inc. 63 FTE
STATE-SIZE W&L Construction and Paving Inc. 63 FTE
STATE-SIZE Division of Transportation (CON-0125) 63 FTE
STATE-SIZE E Contracting Services, LLC 63 FTE
CITY-NEAR Green Rock Correctional Center 276 FTE
CITY-NEAR Davenport Energy, Inc. 167 FTE
CITY-NEAR Columbia Forest Products - Chatham Mill 161 FTE
CITY-NEAR 00464 - STORE # 464 CHATHAM 87 FTE
NAT-TCR AMR Transportation 0.7 TCR
NAT-TCR TAC Air - AMA 0.7 TCR
NAT-TCR Precision Machining Center 0.7 TCR
NAT-TCR KEMRON Environmental Services 0.7 TCR
NAT-SIZE Vet Lab (Elkmont) 63 FTE
NAT-SIZE ONSITE - Georgia 63 FTE
NAT-SIZE Merced Suites 63 FTE
NAT-SIZE IF CoPack LLC dba Initiative Foods 63 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.