Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · West Virginia

Covestro South Charleston

South Charleston, WV · ~104 workers · 8 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

A
Excellent Safety Record
0.7
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

Covestro South Charleston runs at 21% of its industry's injury rate - far safer than the typical Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade A.

Covestro South Charleston: 0.7 TCR = 21% of Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 8y Form 300A (see methodology below)

Covestro South Charleston safety composite

Covestro South Charleston scores strongest on dart rate (safer than 75% of same-industry peers) and weakest on fatalities (safer than 50%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

C

68/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
C 0.69 per 100 workers

Safer than 74% of industry peers

DART rate
B 0 per 100 workers

Safer than 75% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 50% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

Covestro South Charleston held a steady TCR band

Covestro South Charleston's TCR held near 0.0 from 0.0 in 2016 to 0.0 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2018 at 2.7 TCR. In 2024, DART was 0× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

2016=0.0 · 2017=0.9 · 2018=2.7 · 2019=1.9 · 2020=0.0 · 2022=0.0 · 2023=0.0 · 2024=0.0

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325199 · South Charleston, WV AT/BELOW-IND · MID

Grade A · TCR 0.7 · 21% of ind

  • DART 0.0 DART
  • RANK #5/17
  • PHOTO Elementis Specialtie…
  • BOOK 8y book
  • INJ 5 inj
  • SIZE ~104 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: Elementis Specialties Proctor WV (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · West Virginia employers → · Look up another →

Covestro South Charleston in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows Covestro South Charleston averages 0.7 TCR (21% of the Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

Covestro South Charleston TCR series: 2016=0 · 2017=0.9 · 2018=2.7 · 2019=1.9 · 2020=0 · 2022=0 · 2023=0 · 2024=0 · BLS 3.3

Where Covestro South Charleston falls in its industry

552 Carbon organic compounds, not establishments

Safer than 74% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.5.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to West Virginia alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #5 safest of 17 Carbon organic compounds, not employers in West Virginia.

Covestro South Charleston (104 employees, TCR 0.7) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 02004006008001,000 02468 Average employees Total Case Rate Covestro South Charleston
Covestro South Charleston (104 employees, TCR 0.7) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5

Covestro South Charleston has more employees than the Carbon organic compounds, not specified median and a lower injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.5. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2024 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2023 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2022 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2020 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2019 1.9 1.0 2 0 0
2018 2.7 0.9 2 1 0
2017 0.9 0.9 1 0 0
2016 0.0 0.0 0 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325199 · WV · South Charleston

552 Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 2,269 rated employers in West Virginia with headcount on file · 36 employers in South Charleston, WV · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR Elementis Specialties Proctor WV 0.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR AltAir Paramount LLC 0.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR Frankford PA89 0.7 TCR
NAICS-TCR AkzoNobel Battleground 0.7 TCR
STATE-SIZE Nucor Steel West Virginia, LLC 104 FTE
STATE-SIZE Bidell Gas Compression 104 FTE
STATE-SIZE Princeton 104 FTE
STATE-SIZE 029-00768 104 FTE
CITY-NEAR Thomas Health Systems, INC 1,257 FTE
CITY-NEAR Thomas Memorial Hospital 1,170 FTE
CITY-NEAR Gestamp WV 612 FTE
CITY-NEAR Gestamp West Virginia, LLC 564 FTE
NAT-TCR Zelienople Operations 0.7 TCR
NAT-TCR Raytheon_Louisville_KY 0.7 TCR
NAT-TCR Ryder Location 07611 0.7 TCR
NAT-TCR Raytheon_Dallas_TX_ RPM_Lemmon Avenue 0.7 TCR
NAT-SIZE American Superconductor Corporation- Ayer, Massachusetts 104 FTE
NAT-SIZE Oak Canyon Manufacturing "Factory 104 FTE
NAT-SIZE Owensboro 104 FTE
NAT-SIZE Phibro Animal Health Corporation - Quincy 104 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2024, 2023, 2022, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.