Copper compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · South Carolina

Koppers Rock Hill

Rock Hill, SC · ~32 workers · 9 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

A
Excellent Safety Record
1.4
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

Koppers Rock Hill runs at 43% of its industry's injury rate - far safer than the typical Copper compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade A.

Koppers Rock Hill: 1.4 TCR = 43% of Copper compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 9y Form 300A (see methodology below)

Koppers Rock Hill safety composite

Koppers Rock Hill scores strongest on dart rate (safer than 75% of same-industry peers) and weakest on fatalities (safer than 51%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

C

63/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
C 1.42 per 100 workers

Safer than 60% of industry peers

DART rate
B 0 per 100 workers

Safer than 75% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 51% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

TCR Δ

−4.4

2016→2024

Koppers Rock Hill injury rate improved

Koppers Rock Hill's TCR fell 4.4 from 4.4 in 2016 to 0.0 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2016 at 4.4 TCR. In 2024, DART was 0× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

2016=4.4 · 2017=2.8 · 2018=0.0 · 2019=0.0 · 2020=3.0 · 2021=0.0 · 2022=0.0 · 2023=2.6 · 2024=0.0

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325180 · Rock Hill, SC AT/BELOW-IND · SMALL

Grade A · TCR 1.4 · 43% of ind

  • DART 0.0 DART
  • RANK #4/8
  • PHOTO Elementis Castle Hayne
  • BOOK 9y book
  • INJ 4 inj
  • SIZE ~32 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: Elementis Castle Hayne (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · South Carolina employers → · Look up another →

Koppers Rock Hill in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows Koppers Rock Hill averages 1.4 TCR (43% of the Copper compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

Koppers Rock Hill TCR series: 2016=4.4 · 2017=2.8 · 2018=0 · 2019=0 · 2020=3 · 2021=0 · 2022=0 · 2023=2.6 · 2024=0 · BLS 3.3

Where Koppers Rock Hill falls in its industry

418 Copper compounds, not specifie establishments

Safer than 60% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.9.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to South Carolina alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #4 safest of 8 Copper compounds, not specifie employers in South Carolina.

Koppers Rock Hill (32 employees, TCR 1.4) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 61 employees and a TCR of 1.9 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 0100200300400500 0246810 Average employees Total Case Rate Koppers Rock Hill
Koppers Rock Hill (32 employees, TCR 1.4) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 61 employees and a TCR of 1.9

Koppers Rock Hill has fewer employees than the Copper compounds, not specified elsewher median and a lower injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.9. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2024 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2023 2.6 0.0 1 0 0
2022 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2021 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2020 3.0 3.0 1 0 0
2019 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2018 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2017 2.8 2.8 1 0 0
2016 4.4 0.0 1 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325180 · SC · Rock Hill

418 Copper compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 7,610 rated employers in South Carolina with headcount on file · 221 employers in Rock Hill, SC · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR Elementis Castle Hayne 1.4 TCR
NAICS-TCR Lonza/Arch - Charleston 1.4 TCR
NAICS-TCR Chemtrade Solutions LLC East St. Louis 1.4 TCR
NAICS-TCR Evonik Corporation 1.4 TCR
STATE-SIZE Humphrey Coker Seed Company Inc 32 FTE
STATE-SIZE Humphrey Coker Seed Company - Salters Gin 32 FTE
STATE-SIZE Electric Utility 32 FTE
STATE-SIZE Ridgeland 32 FTE
CITY-NEAR 4701-340 1,642 FTE
CITY-NEAR 340 PIEDMONT MEDICAL CENTER 1,552 FTE
CITY-NEAR Rock Hill Distribution Center RHDC 1,107 FTE
CITY-NEAR City of Rock Hill 1,072 FTE
NAT-TCR CLARO / PRT - Centro Operaciones Humacao 1.4 TCR
NAT-TCR JOPAL Bronx D/B/A Workmen's Circle Multi Care Center 1.4 TCR
NAT-TCR Vs - Mo 1.4 TCR
NAT-TCR Houston Factory 1.4 TCR
NAT-SIZE CLARO / PRT - CAC Plaza del Caribe 32 FTE
NAT-SIZE TU 32 FTE
NAT-SIZE Building Installation Group I 32 FTE
NAT-SIZE McKimm Milk Transit Inc Headquarters 32 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2024, 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.