Sodium organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · Tennessee
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII)
Chattanooga, TN · ~32 workers · 6 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.
- B
- Good Safety Record
- 2.1
- Avg TCR
- 3.3
- Industry avg
- 0
- Fatalities
The verdict
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII) runs at 62% of its industry's injury rate - safer than the typical Sodium organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade B.
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII): 2.1 TCR = 62% of Sodium organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 6y Form 300A (see methodology below)
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII) safety composite
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII) scores strongest on fatalities (safer than 50% of same-industry peers) and weakest on dart rate (safer than 18%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).
34/100
Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures
- Total Case Rate (TCR)
- D 2.06 per 100 workers
Safer than 38% of industry peers
- DART rate
- F 2.88 per 100 workers
Safer than 18% of industry peers
- Fatalities
- D 0
Safer than 50% of industry peers
Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).
Rising injury rate
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII): 0.0 → 2.9 TCR
Peak year 2022 @ 9.5 TCR · DART/TCR 1.4× in 2024
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII)'s TCR rose 2.9 from 0.0 in 2019 to 2.9 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2022 at 9.5 TCR. In 2024, DART was 1.4× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).
OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard
Establishment book 325199 · Chattanooga, TN AT/BELOW-IND · SMALL
Grade B · TCR 2.1 · 62% of ind
- DART 2.9 DART
- RANK #10/17
- PHOTO Momentive Performanc…
- BOOK 6y book
- INJ 2 inj
- SIZE ~32 FTE
Nearest TCR peer: Momentive Performance Materials - Texas City (0.0 TCR gap)
Read with this employer → · Industry book → · Tennessee employers → · Look up another →
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII) in the TCR neighbourhood
Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers
- This site
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII)
2.1 TCR
- Momentive Perf
Momentive Performance Materials - Texas City
2.1 TCR
- Lanxess Maplet
Lanxess Mapleton
2.1 TCR
- Worthington Bi
Worthington Biochemical Corp
2.1 TCR
- REG Danville L
REG Danville LLC
2.1 TCR
What this shows Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII) averages 2.1 TCR (62% of the Sodium organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII) TCR series: 2019=0 · 2020=0 · 2021=0 · 2022=9.5 · 2023=0 · 2024=2.9 · BLS 3.3
Where Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII) falls in its industry
552 Sodium organic compounds, not establishmentsSafer than 38% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.5.
Narrower to Tennessee alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #10 safest of 17 Sodium organic compounds, not employers in Tennessee.
Nippon Shokubai America, Inc. (NAII) has fewer employees than the Sodium organic compounds, not specified median and a higher injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.5. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.
Year-by-Year Safety Data
| Year | TCR | DART | Injuries | Illnesses | Fatalities |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 2.9 | 2.9 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 9.5 | 3.2 | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| 2021 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2019 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
OSHA ITA peer cross-reference
Establishment peer ledger
325199 · TN · Chattanooga
552 Sodium organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 10,743 rated employers in Tennessee with headcount on file · 695 employers in Chattanooga, TN · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.
| Rel | Establishment | Metric |
|---|---|---|
| NAICS-TCR | Momentive Performance Materials - Texas City | 2.1 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | Lanxess Mapleton | 2.1 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | Worthington Biochemical Corp | 2.1 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | REG Danville LLC | 2.1 TCR |
| STATE-SIZE | L & H Gin | 32 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | Hallsdale-Powell Utility District (Operations Building) | 32 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | Harvest Construction Company LLC | 32 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | Clinard Civil Contracting | 32 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | CHATTANOOGA COKE | 8,650 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | CHATTANOOGA FOOD | 8,650 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | USXpress | 7,385 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | Cardiology GB | 6,606 FTE |
| NAT-TCR | Platinum Roofing, LLC | 2.1 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | Hussung Mechanical Contractors, Inc. | 2.1 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | Nelson Irrigation Corporation | 2.1 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | Schottland Family YMCA | 2.1 TCR |
| NAT-SIZE | CPAI Alpine HSK | 32 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | Warren Systems Inc | 32 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | Katy Plant | 32 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | Producers Chemical Company | 32 FTE |
Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →
Read our methodology - how this data is sourced, computed, and verified.