Sulfur and sulfur compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · Alabama
SII Tuscaloosa
Tuscaloosa, AL · ~26 workers · 9 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.
- C
- Average Safety Record
- 2.8
- Avg TCR
- 3.3
- Industry avg
- 0
- Fatalities
The verdict
SII Tuscaloosa runs at 86% of its industry's injury rate - about level with the typical Sulfur and sulfur compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade C.
SII Tuscaloosa: 2.8 TCR = 86% of Sulfur and sulfur compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 9y Form 300A (see methodology below)
SII Tuscaloosa safety composite
SII Tuscaloosa scores strongest on fatalities (safer than 51% of same-industry peers) and weakest on dart rate (safer than 16%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).
32/100
Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures
- Total Case Rate (TCR)
- F 2.84 per 100 workers
Safer than 33% of industry peers
- DART rate
- F 3.43 per 100 workers
Safer than 16% of industry peers
- Fatalities
- D 0
Safer than 51% of industry peers
Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).
TCR Δ
−0.7
2016→2024
SII Tuscaloosa injury rate improved
SII Tuscaloosa's TCR fell 0.7 from 4.1 in 2016 to 3.4 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2022 at 6.8 TCR. In 2024, DART was 1.21× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).
2016=4.1 · 2017=0.0 · 2018=3.8 · 2019=0.0 · 2020=0.0 · 2021=3.9 · 2022=6.8 · 2023=3.4 · 2024=3.4
OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard
Establishment book 325180 · Tuscaloosa, AL AT/BELOW-IND · SMALL
Grade C · TCR 2.8 · 86% of ind
- DART 3.4 DART
- RANK #9/12
- PHOTO Niagara Refining LLC
- BOOK 9y book
- INJ 7 inj
- SIZE ~26 FTE
Nearest TCR peer: Niagara Refining LLC (0.0 TCR gap)
Read with this employer → · Industry book → · Alabama employers → · Look up another →
SII Tuscaloosa in the TCR neighbourhood
Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers
- Evonik Corpora
Evonik Corporation
2.9 TCR
- This site
SII Tuscaloosa
2.8 TCR
- Niagara Refini
Niagara Refining LLC
2.8 TCR
- Ascensus Speci
Ascensus Specialties, LLC
2.8 TCR
- Thatcher Compa
Thatcher Company Inc
2.8 TCR
What this shows SII Tuscaloosa averages 2.8 TCR (86% of the Sulfur and sulfur compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).
SII Tuscaloosa TCR series: 2016=4.1 · 2017=0 · 2018=3.8 · 2019=0 · 2020=0 · 2021=3.9 · 2022=6.8 · 2023=3.4 · 2024=3.4 · BLS 3.3
Where SII Tuscaloosa falls in its industry
418 Sulfur and sulfur compounds, n establishmentsSafer than 33% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.9.
Narrower to Alabama alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #9 safest of 12 Sulfur and sulfur compounds, n employers in Alabama.
SII Tuscaloosa has fewer employees than the Sulfur and sulfur compounds, not specifi median and a higher injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.9. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.
Year-by-Year Safety Data
| Year | TCR | DART | Injuries | Illnesses | Fatalities |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 3.4 | 3.4 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 3.4 | 3.4 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 6.8 | 3.4 | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 3.9 | 3.9 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2019 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2018 | 3.8 | 3.8 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| 2017 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2016 | 4.1 | 4.1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
OSHA ITA peer cross-reference
Establishment peer ledger
325180 · AL · Tuscaloosa
418 Sulfur and sulfur compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 7,418 rated employers in Alabama with headcount on file · 151 employers in Tuscaloosa, AL · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.
| Rel | Establishment | Metric |
|---|---|---|
| NAICS-TCR | Niagara Refining LLC | 2.8 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | Evonik Corporation | 2.9 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | Ascensus Specialties, LLC | 2.8 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | Thatcher Company Inc | 2.8 TCR |
| STATE-SIZE | Unlimited Contract Services Robertsdale | 26 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | Mar-Jac Poultry AL, LLC Hatchery | 26 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | Ashland Breeder and Broiler Dept | 26 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | Sand Mountain Hatchery | 26 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | Phifer Kauloosa | 1,419 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | BFG3 Tuscaloosa Facility | 1,340 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | McAbee Construction Inc | 680 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | Tuscaloosa Processing | 526 FTE |
| NAT-TCR | Plant RP | 2.8 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | Cleveland | 2.8 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | Plainfield Distribution Center | 2.8 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes | 2.8 TCR |
| NAT-SIZE | CLS | 26 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | McDonough Store #1711 | 26 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | FPR | 26 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | Grapevine Mills Store #2101 | 26 FTE |
Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →
Read our methodology - how this data is sourced, computed, and verified.