Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · West Virginia

UCC Institute Facility

Institute, WV · ~121 workers · 7 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

A
Excellent Safety Record
0.1
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

UCC Institute Facility runs at 5% of its industry's injury rate - far safer than the typical Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade A.

UCC Institute Facility: 0.1 TCR = 5% of Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 7y Form 300A (see methodology below)

UCC Institute Facility safety composite

UCC Institute Facility scores strongest on total case rate (tcr) (safer than 98% of same-industry peers) and weakest on fatalities (safer than 50%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

B

78/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
A 0.15 per 100 workers

Safer than 98% of industry peers

DART rate
B 0 per 100 workers

Safer than 75% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 50% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

UCC Institute Facility held a steady TCR band

UCC Institute Facility's TCR held near 0.0 from 0.0 in 2016 to 0.0 in 2023. Peak filing year was 2018 at 1.0 TCR. In 2023, DART was 0× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

2016=0.0 · 2017=0.0 · 2018=1.0 · 2019=0.0 · 2020=0.0 · 2021=0.0 · 2023=0.0

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325199 · Institute, WV AT/BELOW-IND · MID

Grade A · TCR 0.1 · 5% of ind

  • DART 0.0 DART
  • RANK #1/17
  • PHOTO The Lubrizol Corpora…
  • BOOK 7y book
  • INJ 1 inj
  • SIZE ~121 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: The Lubrizol Corporation - Wickliffe (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · West Virginia employers → · Look up another →

UCC Institute Facility in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows UCC Institute Facility averages 0.1 TCR (5% of the Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

UCC Institute Facility TCR series: 2016=0 · 2017=0 · 2018=1 · 2019=0 · 2020=0 · 2021=0 · 2023=0 · BLS 3.3

Where UCC Institute Facility falls in its industry

552 Carbon organic compounds, not establishments

Safer than 98% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.5.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to West Virginia alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #1 safest of 17 Carbon organic compounds, not employers in West Virginia.

UCC Institute Facility (121 employees, TCR 0.1) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 02004006008001,000 02468 Average employees Total Case Rate UCC Institute Facility
UCC Institute Facility (121 employees, TCR 0.1) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5

UCC Institute Facility has more employees than the Carbon organic compounds, not specified median and a lower injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.5. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2023 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2021 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2020 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2019 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2018 1.0 0.0 1 1 0
2017 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2016 0.0 0.0 0 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325199 · WV · Institute

552 Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 2,269 rated employers in West Virginia with headcount on file · 5 employers in Institute, WV · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR The Lubrizol Corporation - Wickliffe 0.1 TCR
NAICS-TCR Green Lake, Tx 0.1 TCR
NAICS-TCR Indorama Ventures Oxides, LLC 0.1 TCR
NAICS-TCR STL Spruce 0.1 TCR
STATE-SIZE MW home office 121 FTE
STATE-SIZE Mullican Flooring 121 FTE
STATE-SIZE 099-STATE-CORPORATE 121 FTE
STATE-SIZE 0473 LOWE S OF WOOD COUNTY WV 121 FTE
CITY-NEAR Specialty Products US, LLC 78 FTE
CITY-NEAR Union Carbide Corp Institute 64 FTE
CITY-NEAR Specialty Products US, LLC- POLYOX 63 FTE
CITY-NEAR SODEXO AT WVSU RESIDENT DINING 62 FTE
NAT-TCR Sweeny Refinery 0.1 TCR
NAT-TCR R.O.W.C., L.L.C. 0.1 TCR
NAT-TCR Spokeo Inc. 0.1 TCR
NAT-TCR C&C Clean Team Enterprises, LLC DBA Widmer's 0.1 TCR
NAT-SIZE CertainTeed Gypsum 121 FTE
NAT-SIZE ISD #97 Moose Lake 121 FTE
NAT-SIZE AgMart Produce SFL 121 FTE
NAT-SIZE Copper Ridge Health Care 121 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2023, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.