Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · West Virginia
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant
Willow Island, WV · ~191 workers · 9 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.
- A
- Excellent Safety Record
- 0.6
- Avg TCR
- 3.3
- Industry avg
- 0
- Fatalities
The verdict
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant runs at 18% of its industry's injury rate - far safer than the typical Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade A.
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant: 0.6 TCR = 18% of Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 9y Form 300A (see methodology below)
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant safety composite
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant scores strongest on total case rate (tcr) (safer than 79% of same-industry peers) and weakest on fatalities (safer than 50%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).
70/100
Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures
- Total Case Rate (TCR)
- B 0.58 per 100 workers
Safer than 79% of industry peers
- DART rate
- B 0 per 100 workers
Safer than 75% of industry peers
- Fatalities
- D 0
Safer than 50% of industry peers
Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant held a steady TCR band
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant's TCR held near 0.0 from 0.0 in 2016 to 0.0 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2021 at 1.9 TCR. In 2024, DART was 0× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).
2016=0.0 · 2017=1.5 · 2018=0.5 · 2019=0.9 · 2020=0.0 · 2021=1.9 · 2022=0.5 · 2023=0.0 · 2024=0.0
OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard
Establishment book 325199 · Willow Island, WV AT/BELOW-IND · MID
Grade A · TCR 0.6 · 18% of ind
- DART 0.0 DART
- RANK #3/17
- PHOTO Deer Park VCM Plant
- BOOK 9y book
- INJ 11 inj
- SIZE ~191 FTE
Nearest TCR peer: Deer Park VCM Plant (0.0 TCR gap)
Read with this employer → · Industry book → · West Virginia employers → · Look up another →
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant in the TCR neighbourhood
Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers
- This site
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant
0.6 TCR
- Deer Park VCM
Deer Park VCM Plant
0.6 TCR
- Cambridge Isot
Cambridge Isotope Labs (Tewksbury)
0.6 TCR
- BASF
BASF
0.6 TCR
- Hopkinsville K
Hopkinsville KY Facility
0.6 TCR
What this shows Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant averages 0.6 TCR (18% of the Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant TCR series: 2016=0 · 2017=1.5 · 2018=0.5 · 2019=0.9 · 2020=0 · 2021=1.9 · 2022=0.5 · 2023=0 · 2024=0 · BLS 3.3
Where Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant falls in its industry
552 Carbon organic compounds, not establishmentsSafer than 79% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.5.
Narrower to West Virginia alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #3 safest of 17 Carbon organic compounds, not employers in West Virginia.
Cytec Solvay Group Willow Island Plant has more employees than the Carbon organic compounds, not specified median and a lower injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.5. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.
Year-by-Year Safety Data
| Year | TCR | DART | Injuries | Illnesses | Fatalities |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2022 | 0.5 | 0.0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| 2021 | 1.9 | 0.0 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| 2020 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2019 | 0.9 | 0.5 | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| 2018 | 0.5 | 0.0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| 2017 | 1.5 | 1.0 | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| 2016 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
OSHA ITA peer cross-reference
Establishment peer ledger
325199 · WV · Willow Island
552 Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 2,269 rated employers in West Virginia with headcount on file · 4 employers in Willow Island, WV · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.
| Rel | Establishment | Metric |
|---|---|---|
| NAICS-TCR | Deer Park VCM Plant | 0.6 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | Cambridge Isotope Labs (Tewksbury) | 0.6 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | BASF | 0.6 TCR |
| NAICS-TCR | Hopkinsville KY Facility | 0.6 TCR |
| STATE-SIZE | Logoplaste, Tabler Station LLC | 191 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | 2833 | 191 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | WM 6457 | 191 FTE |
| STATE-SIZE | SODEXO AT MARSHALL UNIV-TWIN TOWERS | 191 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | Pleasants | 172 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | Zoetis Willow Island | 92 FTE |
| CITY-NEAR | Willow Island, WV - MFA | 92 FTE |
| NAT-TCR | Summa Medical Group | 0.6 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | Witherup | 0.6 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | Miami International - #406 | 0.6 TCR |
| NAT-TCR | Minneapolis | 0.6 TCR |
| NAT-SIZE | Dragon Products Liberty | 191 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | Hope's Windows, Inc. | 191 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | Giant Eagle #0073 | 191 FTE |
| NAT-SIZE | XMP | 191 FTE |
Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →
Read our methodology - how this data is sourced, computed, and verified.