Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · Illinois

Koppers Stickney

Stickney, IL · ~114 workers · 9 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

D
Poor Safety Record
5.3
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

Koppers Stickney runs at 161% of its industry's injury rate - more dangerous than the typical Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade D.

Koppers Stickney: 5.3 TCR = 161% of Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 9y Form 300A (see methodology below)

Koppers Stickney safety composite

Koppers Stickney scores strongest on fatalities (safer than 50% of same-industry peers) and weakest on total case rate (tcr) (safer than 8%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

F

19/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
F 5.31 per 100 workers

Safer than 8% of industry peers

DART rate
F 3.94 per 100 workers

Safer than 10% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 50% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

Rising injury rate

Koppers Stickney: 5.2 → 6.3 TCR

Peak year 2020 @ 14.2 TCR · DART/TCR 0.74× in 2024

Koppers Stickney's TCR rose 1.1 from 5.2 in 2016 to 6.3 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2020 at 14.2 TCR. In 2024, DART was 0.74× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325199 · Stickney, IL ABOVE-IND · MID

Grade D · TCR 5.3 · 161% of ind

  • DART 3.9 DART
  • RANK #24/25
  • PHOTO Huntsman Advanced Ma…
  • BOOK 9y book
  • INJ 47 inj
  • SIZE ~114 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: Huntsman Advanced Materials, LLC (Ashtabula Facility) (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · Illinois employers → · Look up another →

Koppers Stickney in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows Koppers Stickney averages 5.3 TCR (161% of the Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

Koppers Stickney TCR series: 2016=5.2 · 2017=3.6 · 2018=2.9 · 2019=6 · 2020=14.2 · 2021=4.5 · 2022=2.2 · 2023=2.9 · 2024=6.3 · BLS 3.3

Where Koppers Stickney falls in its industry

552 Carbon organic compounds, not establishments

Safer than 8% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.5.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to Illinois alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #24 safest of 25 Carbon organic compounds, not employers in Illinois.

Koppers Stickney (114 employees, TCR 5.3) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 02004006008001,000 02468 Average employees Total Case Rate Koppers Stickney
Koppers Stickney (114 employees, TCR 5.3) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5

Koppers Stickney has more employees than the Carbon organic compounds, not specified median and a higher injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.5. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2024 6.3 3.9 8 0 0
2023 2.9 2.1 4 0 0
2022 2.2 0.7 3 0 0
2021 4.5 3.0 6 0 0
2020 14.2 11.9 6 13 0
2019 6.0 1.5 5 3 0
2018 2.9 2.9 4 0 0
2017 3.6 1.4 4 1 0
2016 5.2 3.7 7 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325199 · IL · Stickney

552 Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 22,804 rated employers in Illinois with headcount on file · 6 employers in Stickney, IL · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR Huntsman Advanced Materials, LLC (Ashtabula Facility) 5.3 TCR
NAICS-TCR St. Joe Methyl Ester 5.3 TCR
NAICS-TCR American Greenfuels LLC 5.4 TCR
NAICS-TCR Dystar LP Reidsville Plant 5.2 TCR
STATE-SIZE Wyffels Hybrids Production 114 FTE
STATE-SIZE Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. 114 FTE
STATE-SIZE Dynegy Collinsville Office 114 FTE
STATE-SIZE AMEREN ILLINOIS - Pioneer Park 114 FTE
CITY-NEAR NAI-0032-0032-01403 FAC-01403-STICKNEY-IL 182 FTE
CITY-NEAR 5472-NAI-0032-0032-01403 178 FTE
CITY-NEAR 5472-000003103 168 FTE
CITY-NEAR 5472-000001403 154 FTE
NAT-TCR Segrest - Gibsonton 5.3 TCR
NAT-TCR WellStar Cobb Hospital 5.3 TCR
NAT-TCR HOCV-AVV Joint Venture 5.3 TCR
NAT-TCR West Penn Hospital 5.3 TCR
NAT-SIZE Pioneer Americas LLC, St. Gabriel 114 FTE
NAT-SIZE IFB Solutions - Asheville 114 FTE
NAT-SIZE IMS Pet Industries 114 FTE
NAT-SIZE Cross 114 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2024, 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.