Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · Michigan

Michigan Operations - Midland

Midland, MI · ~3,755 workers · 4 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

A
Excellent Safety Record
0.3
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

Michigan Operations - Midland runs at 8% of its industry's injury rate - far safer than the typical Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade A.

Michigan Operations - Midland: 0.3 TCR = 8% of Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 4y Form 300A (see methodology below)

Michigan Operations - Midland safety composite

Michigan Operations - Midland scores strongest on total case rate (tcr) (safer than 95% of same-industry peers) and weakest on dart rate (safer than 50%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

C

68/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
A 0.25 per 100 workers

Safer than 95% of industry peers

DART rate
D 0.13 per 100 workers

Safer than 50% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 50% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

Michigan Operations - Midland held a steady TCR band

Michigan Operations - Midland's TCR held near 0.2 from 0.1 in 2016 to 0.3 in 2019. Peak filing year was 2018 at 0.4 TCR. In 2019, DART was 0.52× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

2016=0.1 · 2017=0.1 · 2018=0.4 · 2019=0.3

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325199 · Midland, MI AT/BELOW-IND · LARGE

Grade A · TCR 0.3 · 8% of ind

  • DART 0.1 DART
  • RANK #2/16
  • PHOTO Ascend Performance M…
  • BOOK 4y book
  • INJ 34 inj
  • SIZE ~3,755 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: Ascend Performance Materials- Alvin Tx (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · Michigan employers → · Look up another →

Michigan Operations - Midland in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows Michigan Operations - Midland averages 0.3 TCR (8% of the Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

Michigan Operations - Midland TCR series: 2016=0.1 · 2017=0.1 · 2018=0.4 · 2019=0.3 · BLS 3.3

Where Michigan Operations - Midland falls in its industry

552 Carbon organic compounds, not establishments

Safer than 95% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.5.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to Michigan alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #2 safest of 16 Carbon organic compounds, not employers in Michigan.

Michigan Operations - Midland (3,755 employees, TCR 0.3) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 01,0002,0003,0004,000 02468 Average employees Total Case Rate Michigan Operations - Midland
Michigan Operations - Midland (3,755 employees, TCR 0.3) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5

Michigan Operations - Midland has more employees than the Carbon organic compounds, not specified median and a lower injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.5. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2019 0.3 0.1 7 3 0
2018 0.4 0.1 16 1 0
2017 0.1 0.1 5 0 0
2016 0.1 0.0 6 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325199 · MI · Midland

552 Carbon organic compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 16,393 rated employers in Michigan with headcount on file · 135 employers in Midland, MI · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR Ascend Performance Materials- Alvin Tx 0.3 TCR
NAICS-TCR OXEA Corporation/OQ Chemicals 0.3 TCR
NAICS-TCR Evonik Pasadena Plant 0.3 TCR
NAICS-TCR Ineos Nitriles USA LLC 0.3 TCR
STATE-SIZE North America Fulfillment Centers (FCs) : DTW1 3,720 FTE
STATE-SIZE Warren Truck Assembly Plant 3,804 FTE
STATE-SIZE Eastern Michigan University 3,706 FTE
STATE-SIZE Detroit Assembly Complex Mack 3,669 FTE
CITY-NEAR Dow Chemical - Great Lakes Bay Region Corporate Facilities 3,454 FTE
CITY-NEAR MyMichigan Medical Center Midland 2,965 FTE
CITY-NEAR MidMichigan Medical Center - Midland 2,348 FTE
CITY-NEAR Dow Chemical - Michgian Operations 2,270 FTE
NAT-TCR PATTank 0.3 TCR
NAT-TCR NJ0533CBC 0.3 TCR
NAT-TCR Shippers Products 0.3 TCR
NAT-TCR Amco Wytheville 0.3 TCR
NAT-SIZE Precision Pipeline, LLC 3,757 FTE
NAT-SIZE San Manuel Casino 3,759 FTE
NAT-SIZE UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh 3,764 FTE
NAT-SIZE Continental Tire Mt. Vernon 3,766 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.