Zinc compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · Illinois

Nanophase Romeoville site

Romeoville, IL · ~69 workers · 9 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

A
Excellent Safety Record
1.0
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

Nanophase Romeoville site runs at 31% of its industry's injury rate - far safer than the typical Zinc compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade A.

Nanophase Romeoville site: 1.0 TCR = 31% of Zinc compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 9y Form 300A (see methodology below)

Nanophase Romeoville site safety composite

Nanophase Romeoville site scores strongest on total case rate (tcr) (safer than 72% of same-industry peers) and weakest on dart rate (safer than 31%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

D

52/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
C 1.03 per 100 workers

Safer than 72% of industry peers

DART rate
F 1.56 per 100 workers

Safer than 31% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 51% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

Rising injury rate

Nanophase Romeoville site: 0.0 → 1.6 TCR

Peak year 2017 @ 2.3 TCR · DART/TCR 1.51× in 2024

Nanophase Romeoville site's TCR rose 1.6 from 0.0 in 2016 to 1.6 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2017 at 2.3 TCR. In 2024, DART was 1.51× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325180 · Romeoville, IL AT/BELOW-IND · SMALL

Grade A · TCR 1.0 · 31% of ind

  • DART 1.6 DART
  • RANK #5/25
  • PHOTO ERCO Worldwide Valdo…
  • BOOK 9y book
  • INJ 7 inj
  • SIZE ~69 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: ERCO Worldwide Valdosta (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · Illinois employers → · Look up another →

Nanophase Romeoville site in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows Nanophase Romeoville site averages 1.0 TCR (31% of the Zinc compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

Nanophase Romeoville site TCR series: 2016=0 · 2017=2.3 · 2018=0 · 2019=1.8 · 2020=0 · 2021=1.7 · 2022=0.7 · 2023=1.1 · 2024=1.6 · BLS 3.3

Where Nanophase Romeoville site falls in its industry

418 Zinc compounds, not specified establishments

Safer than 72% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.9.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to Illinois alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #5 safest of 25 Zinc compounds, not specified employers in Illinois.

Nanophase Romeoville site (69 employees, TCR 1.0) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 61 employees and a TCR of 1.9 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 0100200300400500 0246810 Average employees Total Case Rate Nanophase Romeoville site
Nanophase Romeoville site (69 employees, TCR 1.0) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 61 employees and a TCR of 1.9

Nanophase Romeoville site has more employees than the Zinc compounds, not specified elsewhere median and a lower injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.9. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2024 1.6 1.6 1 0 0
2023 1.1 1.1 1 0 0
2022 0.7 0.7 1 0 0
2021 1.7 1.7 2 0 0
2020 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2019 1.8 0.0 1 0 0
2018 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2017 2.3 2.3 1 0 0
2016 0.0 0.0 0 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325180 · IL · Romeoville

418 Zinc compounds, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 22,804 rated employers in Illinois with headcount on file · 172 employers in Romeoville, IL · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR ERCO Worldwide Valdosta 1.0 TCR
NAICS-TCR Albemarle US, Inc. - Kings Mountain 1.0 TCR
NAICS-TCR PQ Corporation 1.0 TCR
NAICS-TCR W.R. Grace East Chicago Indiana 1.1 TCR
STATE-SIZE Pioneer HiBred International Inc. McLeansboro Production 69 FTE
STATE-SIZE Corteva Litchfield 69 FTE
STATE-SIZE 2057-Centralia, IL (Monsanto Co.) 69 FTE
STATE-SIZE Hennepin Power Station 69 FTE
CITY-NEAR Hearthside Food Solutions, LLC Romeoville 1,197 FTE
CITY-NEAR Asplundh Tree Expert, LLC - 444 755 FTE
CITY-NEAR Magid Glove and Safety Manufacturing Company LLC 751 FTE
CITY-NEAR AMZL : DCH6 745 FTE
NAT-TCR M. C. Miller Co., Inc. 1.0 TCR
NAT-TCR Fleet Services Building 1.0 TCR
NAT-TCR Plastipak- McCalla 1.0 TCR
NAT-TCR Oerlikon - Dayton 1.0 TCR
NAT-SIZE Bandon Senior Living 69 FTE
NAT-SIZE Comfort Systems USA Ohio Cleveland 69 FTE
NAT-SIZE Diversicare of Pell City 69 FTE
NAT-SIZE Store #54 69 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2024, 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.