Esters, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing · Iowa

AGP Algona Methyl Ester

Algona, IA · ~37 workers · 9 years of OSHA Injury Tracking Application data.

B
Good Safety Record
1.9
Avg TCR
3.3
Industry avg
0
Fatalities
Subscribe to safety-record updates (RSS)

The verdict

AGP Algona Methyl Ester runs at 57% of its industry's injury rate - safer than the typical Esters, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing workplace, earning a grade B.

AGP Algona Methyl Ester: 1.9 TCR = 57% of Esters, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS 3.3 · 9y Form 300A (see methodology below)

AGP Algona Methyl Ester safety composite

AGP Algona Methyl Ester scores strongest on dart rate (safer than 75% of same-industry peers) and weakest on total case rate (tcr) (safer than 40%), blended into one 0-100 breakdown against same-industry peers. A missing measure drops out and redistributes its weight rather than deflating the score. This is a per-dimension breakdown, distinct from the single letter grade above it (which weights TCR alone against the BLS industry benchmark).

C

55/100

Percentile-weighted across 3 of 3 measures

Total Case Rate (TCR)
D 1.88 per 100 workers

Safer than 40% of industry peers

DART rate
B 0 per 100 workers

Safer than 75% of industry peers

Fatalities
D 0

Safer than 50% of industry peers

Benchmarked live against every credibly-rated employer in the same NAICS industry code in the current OSHA extract (a segment must have at least 8 rated peers to benchmark). Not a legal or compliance determination; PlainSafetyScore's own weighting (TCR 40%, DART 35%, fatalities 25%).

AGP Algona Methyl Ester held a steady TCR band

AGP Algona Methyl Ester's TCR held near 0.0 from 0.0 in 2016 to 0.0 in 2024. Peak filing year was 2020 at 4.8 TCR. In 2024, DART was 0× this establishment's average TCR (severity share of cases).

2016=0.0 · 2017=4.8 · 2018=0.0 · 2019=2.5 · 2020=4.8 · 2021=0.0 · 2022=4.8 · 2023=0.0 · 2024=0.0

OSHA ITA Form 300A scorecard

Establishment book 325199 · Algona, IA AT/BELOW-IND · SMALL

Grade B · TCR 1.9 · 57% of ind

  • DART 0.0 DART
  • RANK #13/17
  • PHOTO Dover Chemical Corpo…
  • BOOK 9y book
  • INJ 7 inj
  • SIZE ~37 FTE

Nearest TCR peer: Dover Chemical Corporation (0.0 TCR gap)

Read with this employer → · Industry book → · Iowa employers → · Look up another →

AGP Algona Methyl Ester in the TCR neighbourhood

Average Total Case Rate among this establishment and nearest same-industry peers

TCR

What this shows AGP Algona Methyl Ester averages 1.9 TCR (57% of the Esters, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing BLS benchmark).

Source U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA Injury Tracking Application (Form 300A) As of 2026-08-25

AGP Algona Methyl Ester TCR series: 2016=0 · 2017=4.8 · 2018=0 · 2019=2.5 · 2020=4.8 · 2021=0 · 2022=4.8 · 2023=0 · 2024=0 · BLS 3.3

Where AGP Algona Methyl Ester falls in its industry

552 Esters, not specified elsewher establishments

Safer than 40% of graded establishments in this industry, whose median TCR is 1.5.

More dangerous than peersSafer than peers

Narrower to Iowa alone (the establishments it most directly competes with for workers and contracts): ranked #13 safest of 17 Esters, not specified elsewher employers in Iowa.

AGP Algona Methyl Ester (37 employees, TCR 1.9) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5 2×2 strategic matrix plotting 30 entities by Average employees (X) and Total Case Rate (Y), with a crosshair dividing the plot into four quadrants. Larger & higher-riskSmaller & higher-riskLarger & saferSmaller & safer than peers 02004006008001,000 02468 Average employees Total Case Rate AGP Algona Methyl Ester
AGP Algona Methyl Ester (37 employees, TCR 1.9) among 29 same-industry peers, split at the industry median of 73 employees and a TCR of 1.5

AGP Algona Methyl Ester has fewer employees than the Esters, not specified elsewhere by proce median and a higher injury rate than the industry's median TCR of 1.5. Workforce size and injury rate do not always move together within the same industry -- some of its smaller peers run higher rates than its larger ones, and vice versa.

Year-by-Year Safety Data

Year TCR DART Injuries Illnesses Fatalities
2024 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2023 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2022 4.8 2.4 2 0 0
2021 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2020 4.8 0.0 2 0 0
2019 2.5 2.5 1 0 0
2018 0.0 0.0 0 0 0
2017 4.8 4.8 2 0 0
2016 0.0 0.0 0 0 0

OSHA ITA peer cross-reference

Establishment peer ledger

325199 · IA · Algona

552 Esters, not specified elsewhere by process, manufacturing employers nationwide with a credible TCR · 7,192 rated employers in Iowa with headcount on file · 26 employers in Algona, IA · 4 cross-state NAT-TCR peers · 4 cross-state NAT-SIZE peers. Closest matches by relationship code are listed below.

Rel Establishment Metric
NAICS-TCR Dover Chemical Corporation 1.9 TCR
NAICS-TCR Jayhawk Fine Chemicals 1.9 TCR
NAICS-TCR Beatrice Renewables Plant 1.9 TCR
NAICS-TCR ALTIVIA Specialty Chemicals, LLC 1.9 TCR
STATE-SIZE Rockwell City Warehouse 37 FTE
STATE-SIZE Sioux County Egg 37 FTE
STATE-SIZE OSI Gen Repair & Svc Wind Plt 37 FTE
STATE-SIZE BHE - Lawrence (KS009) 37 FTE
CITY-NEAR Snap On Tools 403 FTE
CITY-NEAR Hormel Food 258 FTE
CITY-NEAR Kossuth Regional Health Center 241 FTE
CITY-NEAR Hormel Foods Corporation 241 FTE
NAT-TCR School Specialty, Inc. - Mansfield 1.9 TCR
NAT-TCR COH Municipal Court/City Attourney Criminal/Alternative Sentencing 1.9 TCR
NAT-TCR Molecular Imaging - Detector Center 1.9 TCR
NAT-TCR Cal-Main Foods Inc. Edwards 1.9 TCR
NAT-SIZE Mento Produce Co., Inc 37 FTE
NAT-SIZE Linden Warehouse & Distribution 37 FTE
NAT-SIZE Kennesaw Store #1702 37 FTE
NAT-SIZE Texas of All Tech Electric, LLC 37 FTE

Rel codes: NAICS-TCR · STATE-SIZE · CITY-NEAR · NAT-TCR/NAT-SIZE cross-state. Read with this employer →

Data Source: OSHA Injury Tracking Application (ITA), mandatory establishment-level injury/illness reports. Grades compare employer Total Case Rate (TCR) to BLS IIF industry benchmarks. Data covers years reported by this establishment: 2024, 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016. This is publicly available government data - not a legal determination of workplace conditions.
Data sourced from official public datasets. See our methodology for details.